Beach walking

I picked up The Simple Things – a beautiful magazine; if you haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend – in the shop the other day and spotted an article about spending a day on the beach. There’s a peace about escaping to the seaside; there are wonderful things you can catch and eat and so many little wonders to find. And they’re totally right, a day on the beach, even in winter is incredibly refreshing and invigorating!

Now I must admit, you can go to the beach with one of two agendas. You can be there to escape and relax and wander along the shoreline admiring the beauty of it all, or you can be there to feed your adventurous spirit, push your limits and get truly bashed about in the waves. Our agenda was the former, but I can’t deny I was a little jealous of these kitesurfers.

A beautiful sight in hazy light

A beautiful sight in hazy light

It was a beautifully windy day – perfect for these guys. Kitesurfing is something that’s intrigued me for a long time. I’ve always wanted to fly and I can imagine kitesurfing is one way of satisfying that desire.

Although it was windy, it looked pretty hard work getting the kites up

Although it was windy, it looked pretty hard work getting the kites up

Seeing these guys makes me want to try kitesurfing even more!

Seeing these guys makes me want to try kitesurfing even more

The beach is a great playground for both two legged mammals and the four legged variety, and a brilliant location for your furry friend to exert all his energy, so he doesn’t run raucous in the house.

The beach is a great place to tire your four legged friend out

The beach is a great place to tire your four legged friend out

Shep loves playing on the beach as much as we do

Shep loves playing on the beach as much as we do

The light wasn’t great, but it was dry and that’s all a photographer can ask for. Welsh beaches run for miles and miles and when the tide is out, you have even more space for playing. I can see us coming down here in the summer with a cricket bat or volleyball net and some Kubb – a brilliant old Viking game from Sweden.

I've always been a stickler for lines in nature

I’ve always been a stickler for lines in nature

But if you’re serious about finding some real treasures on the beach, you have to be willing to go out of your way a little. Get down on the ground, look behind a bush, try a different angle – you’ll be rewarded with some stunning pictures if you’re willing to go the extra mile.

The beauty's in the details

The beauty’s in the details

Shells are not only beautiful, but come in pretty handy in crafty projects too

Shells are not only beautiful, but come in pretty handy in crafty projects too

Where’s your favourite beach? I’d love to see your photos and hear your stories!

7 thoughts on “Beach walking

  1. Traci

    I just spent a day at Little Talbot Island off of Jacksonville, FL. The weather was fantastic, and my friend and I walked for four miles just enjoying the breeze.

    Reply
  2. Helena Kotala

    This story took me back to a few years ago when I took a vacation to Cuxhaven, Germany and learned how to kite surf while I was there! Such a great experience.

    Also, I love the close-up shot of the shell. Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

